In The Margins E5: Improv Poetry: An Interview with Ross White

Get inspired every 1st and 3rd Tuesday! Produced by tatestreeet.org, “In the Margins” is a dialogue with Tate Street Managing Editor, Abigail Browning, and special guests about the creative process of writing, publishing, and the inside knowledge of the literary world.  Listeners of all skills, backgrounds, and interests are invited to share in the conversation with editors, writers, and creative minds.

Find "In the Margins" through iTunes and subscribe: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/in-the-margins/id954096691 

You can also listen here: http://tatestreet.libsyn.com/podcast

Episode 5 Guest: Poet Ross White

Poet Ross White reads from his new chapbook, “How We Came Upon the Colony” (Unicorn Press, 2014). The conversation travels from White’s imagined 14th colony of the New World to his foundation in improv comedy.

Podcast Notes

Ross White, Poet, Executive Director of Bull City Press:  http://www.rosswhite.com/
How We Came Upon the Colony by Ross White: http://www.unicorn-press.org/books/White-How-We-Came-Upon-the-Colony.html Bull City Press, Durham, NC: http://bullcitypress.com/

Awards from:
Best New Poets: http://bestnewpoets.org/
Poetry Daily: http://poems.com/
The New England Review: http://www.nereview.com/
Bread Loaf Writer’s Conference, Ripton, VT: http://www.middlebury.edu/bread-loaf-conferences/bl_writers
DSI Theater, Improve Comedy, Chapel Hill, NC: http://www.dsicomedytheater.com/

Warren Wilson MFA Program and Faculty Supervisors:
Website: http://www.wwcmfa.org/
C. Dale Young: http://www.cdaleyoung.com/
Mary Leader: https://www.graywolfpress.org/author-list/mary-leader
Heather McHugh: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/heather-mchugh
A. Van Jordan: http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/van-jordan-0

Other mentioned poets:
Michael McFee: http://englishcomplit.unc.edu/people/mcfeem
Weldon Kees: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/weldon-kees
Donald Justice: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/donald-justice
W. S. Merwin: http://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/w-s-merwin
W. H. Auden: http://audensociety.org/index.html

See also:
DSI Theater, Improve Comedy, Chapel Hill, NC: http://www.dsicomedytheater.com/
The Grind Daily Writing Series: http://rosswhite.com/2012/04/08/how-napowrimo-inspired-the-grind/
tatestreet.org Three-Sentence Reviews: https://tatestreet.org/category/reviews/three-sentence-reviews/

Producers: Ray Crampton and Abigail Browning
Produced by: tatestreet.org: http://tatestreet.org
Music Provided by: Jonathan Stout and his Campus Five featuring Hilary Alexander: http://www.campusfive.com
Podcast Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tatestreetorg
Podcast Twitter: https://twitter.com/tatestreetorg
Podcast Email: mailto:writeus@tatestreet.org

 

HWCUTC

 

 

Bonus!  The fabled Tate Street poetry turtle neck t-shirts and berets!

TS Turtleneck tshirts both

About: In the Margins

ITM Abigail Browning Producers: Ray Crampton and Abigail Browning
Produced by: tatestreet.org
Music Provided by: Jonathan Stout and his Campus Five featuring Hilary Alexander: http://www.campusfive.com
Podcast Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tatestreetorg
Podcast Twitter: https://twitter.com/tatestreetorg
Podcast Email: writeus@tatestreet.org

Share your thoughts with TSHS!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: